Open or Closed Registration can be configured from the "Basics" section of the "Setup" tab in the CMS. The information below will help you decide which login option is best for your event(s).
If Open Registration is set to yes, anyone can self-register for the app simply by entering their email address to access the content, without any password initially required. The attendee will appear in your CMS as an attendee once they've logged in.
After entering their email, the attendee is sent a Sign-Up email (if enabled from the Emails section) with a few app tips and instructions on how to create their password. Note that they'll only need the password if they log out of the app on their device, or want to access the app from another device. Here is an example of the Sign Up email:
If Open Registration is set to no, attendees must be preloaded in the CMS and pre-assigned a password. Please note that unless you are added to the CMS as an attendee, you will not be able to see the event in the app.
In order for the attendee to initially log in, they will need to receive their password. We provide a Welcome Email in our CMS that can be sent to all attendees to provide them with their password and a link to download the mobile app. Here is an example of the Welcome Email:
More information on customizing and sending the Welcome Email can be found here.
After downloading the app, users will enter their email and then be prompted for the password that was assigned to them upon account creation.
If the user has customized their password in a previous event in your app, their password will remain the customized password and will not be overwritten by the new event's password unless you use the "Set all attendees passwords" option in the 'Actions' drop-down menu on the attendee section of the CMS.
Note: Closed Registration is not advisable for events with a lot of attendees registering for the event on-site.
Switching from Closed to Open Registration
If the registration type is changed from Closed to Open Registration and your attendee list is already uploaded to the CMS, these attendees will still be required to input the password you've provided for them. To allow these attendees to initially log in without a password, you will need to delete the attendee list in the CMS.
Note: deleting attendees will erase any data related to the attendee including status updates, survey responses, points, achievements, and any other content or action.